RSS Feed

The Ovaries

There are two ovaries in the female reproductive system, each approximately 3 to 5 centimeters. Each ovary is surrounded by a germinal epithelium that consists of cuboidal cells. The ovaries are split into two sections: the medulla and the cortex. The medulla contains supportive structures, such as blood vessels. The cortex contains follicles that contain the eggs (Jones and Lopez, 2006).

The picture 3 below shows an ovary cross section.

Picture 3: A cross section of an ovary (Jones and Lopex, 2006)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: