RSS Feed

The Uterus

The uterus is anchored into place by the broad ligament, the uterosacral ligament, the lateral cervical ligament, and the round ligament. The uterine wall contains three layers: the perimetrium, the myometrium, and the endometrium. The endometrium is the layer that faces the inside of the uterus. This layer contains the stratum basales and the stratum functionalis. The stratum basales contains spiral arteries that supports the uterine cells. The stratum functionalis is what is lost during menstruation and is the location at which the egg implants during pregnancy. The uterus contains three regions: the fundus, the body, and the cervix. The fundus is located superior to the uterus. The cervix, a muscular section that regulates the movement of materials into and out of the uterus, is located in the inferior section of the uterus

Picture 4 below shows a representation of what the lining of the uterus looks like.

Picture 4: A picture of the uterine wall layers (Jones and Lopez, 2006)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: